Countries open to South Africans

The world is starting to open up more and more to South Africans wanting to travel. Different requirements may still apply depending on the country of travel. These may include but are not limited to quarantine upon arrival, additional testing, or vaccination requirements. The introduction of a digital vaccination card by the South African government, will be a welcome advantage for travel and we will update you on these developments as received. The list of countries open to South Africans is updated on a weekly basis, for up-to-date information please check our travel map here or contact your Travel Expert.



Open for VACCINATED South Africans
with some restrictions (please check Travel Hub)
Open for South Africans
with testing restrictions (please check Travel Hub)
Abu Dhabi Albania
Andorra Algeria
Angola Armenia
Antigua and Barbuda Aruba
Argentina (1 Nov) Bahamas
Australia – Sydney/Melbourne Only immediate family only
Austria -(entry within 270 days of last vaccine) Belize
Bahrain Benin
Bangladesh Botswana
Barbados Brazil
Belarus Burkina Faso
Belgium Burundi
Bermuda Cape Verde
Bolivia Colombia
Bosnia & Hersegovinia Comoros
British Virgin Islands Congo, Rep of
Canada Costa Rica
Cayman Islands Cote d’Ivoire
Central African Republic Curacau
Chad Dominican Republic
Chile DRC
Croatia – (entry within 210 days of last vaccine) Dubai
Cuba Ecuador
Czech Republic (Digital Vaccine Cards Only) El Salvador
Egypt Ethiopia
Equatorial Guinea Gabon
Eritrea Gambia, The
Estonia Germany
Faroe Islands
Fiji (1 Dec) Ghana
Finland Guinea
France Guinea- Bassau
French Guyana Haiti
French Polynesia India (15 Nov)
Georgia Jamaica
Gibraltar Jersey
Grenada Jordan
Guadalope Kenya
Guatamala Kosovo
Guyana  Haiti
Hondorus  India (15 Nov)
Hungary (Digital Vaccine Cards certain countries Only)  Jamaica
Iceland Jersey
Indonesia very strict quarantine and entry requirements
Ireland – (No Quarantine UPDATE) Jordan
Israel Kenya
Liberia Kosovo
Liechtenstein Kyrgyzstan
Lithuania Lebanon
Malta (Approved Vaccine Cards Only) Lesotho
Martinique Malawi
Mauritania Maldives
Mauritius Mali
Mayotte Mexico
Moldova Mozambique
Monaco Namibia
Montenegro Nicaraguay
Morocco Panama
Nepal Paraguay
Netherlands Rwanda
Niger Saint Lucia
Nigeria San Marino
North Macedonia Sao Tome and Principe
Norway (Digital Vac Cert only) Senegal
Oman Saint Lucia
Palau Seychelles
Qatar Sierra Leone
Romania Sudan
Russia Tajikistan
Saudi Arabia Tanzania
Serbia Uganda
Slovakia Ukraine
Slovenia Uzbekistan
Somalia Venezuela
Spain Zimbabwe
Sri Lanka
St Vincent and Grenadines
Thailand (Phuket and Samui Sandbox Model)
Trinidad & Tobago
Turks and Caicos Islands
United Kingdom
United States (8 Nov)
                                                                                      On our watchlist for opening
Italy- no tourism, but business visa’s can be applied for.
Portugal – open to EXISTING visa holders who are fully vaccinated
Greece -open to EXISTING visa holders visa holders
New Zealand for family members NZ citizens
**** Please note restrictions may include PCR testing and Vaccination passport – PLEASE check requirements****
                                                                                               Airlines Flying
INTERNATIONAL Carriers Flying ex RSA – Please check what entry restrictions apply for South African travellers DOMESTIC
Air France Airlink
Air Mauritius (BR) BA Comair
Air Peace Cemair
Air Seychelles FlySafair
British Airways Kulula (BR)
Delta Airlines SAA
Egypt Air
Ethiopian Airlines
Kenya Airways
KLM Royal Dutch Airlines
Qatar Airways
SAA – Regional Routes
Singapore Airlines
Swiss International Airlines
Taag Angola Airlines
Turkish Airlines
Uganda Airlines
United Airlines
Virgin Atlantic
                                                                                     Not Flying to RSA currently 
Airline  Resume Flying
Asky Until Further Notice (Potentially Dec 2021)
Austrian Airlines Until Further Notice
Cathay Pacific  28 Mar 2022*
El Al Until further notice
Etihad 25 November 2021
Italia Tansporto Aereo (ITA) No plans for resuming JNB route at this point
Latam Until Further Notice
Mango (BR) Until further Notice
Qantas 05 Jan 22
** Dates Subject to Change ***